Welcome to the Department of Political Science

As an undergraduate, earning a Bachelor's Degree in Political Science can provide you with the intellectual tools necessary to understand various topics within the political arena, preparing you for a career in business, government, law, or a variety of other jobs that require an understanding of the political world.

For those already with an undergraduate degree, our M.A. program offers a more-advanced educational experience, providing students with the skills to be either professional political scientists or to seek career paths that place a premium on research skills.

Our website contains information about our programs, our faculty, our alumni, and some of the opportunities offered by a specialization in Political Science. If you need more information, or want to schedule an appointment to meet with someone about beginning studies in political science, please feel free to contact us by e-mail or by phone at 901.678.2395.

Fall 2019 Class Schedule

Political Science News

Department of Political Science NewsletterA few of the items included in the Fall 2018 newsletter are:

  • A Note from the Chair
  • News from Lambuth Campus
  • Upcoming Events
  • Tennessee Legislative Internship Program
  • Department News
  • Faculty Profile and Accomplishments
  • Student Accomplishments
  • Alumni News

Read the newsletter now.

Department Kudos

Dr. Michael Sances - received the Michael K. Harless Faculty Excellence Award from the University of Memphis College of Arts and Sciences for 2018.

Dr. Sharon Stanley - received a Professional Development Assignment for 2018-19.

Dr. Shelby Grossman - received grants from the Economic Development Initiatives and the Centre for Economic Policy Research, 2018.

Dr. Nicole Detraz- 2018 Alumni Association's Distinguished Research Award.

Dr. Nicole Detraz & Dr. Dursun Peksen - are now editors of the International Studies Review.

Dr. Nicole Detraz - 2017 Dunavant Professor Award.

Dr. Matthias Kaelberer-received a Professional Development Assignment for Fall 2017.

Rachell Davis - College of Art's & Sciences Dean's Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Student for 2016-2017.

Dr. Sharon Stanley – 2016 University of Memphis Alumni Association Distinguished Teaching Award.

Dr. Michael Sances – Russell Sage Foundation Grant.

Dr. Nicole Detraz and Dr. Eric Groenendyk – Professional Development Assignments 2016/17.

500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

Science Association.

Dr. Shelby Grossman – Postdoctoral Fellow at the Center on Democracy, Development and the Rule of Law at Stanford University.